PALEO GIRL SCOUT COOKIES!!!

OH MY GOD, CAN YOU TELL I’M EXCITED?!?!?!

Sorry for the shouting, but this is the best. The very, very best. You know those girls in the little brown uniforms are going to be out and about soon, peddling their morsels of sugary, corn syrupy goodness. Last year I couldn’t wait. I looked up recipes that were way too complicated for me to attempt. I thought about buying last year’s leftovers on eBay. I found a site that stalks Girl Scouts in your area and I watched. Like a hawk. Every day. And then they came and it was wonderful. I actually don’t like most Girl Scout cookies, but those Samoas…man, can I demolish some Samoas. Imagine (just close your eyes and imagine) my excitement (fist pumping, hopping, wide eyes, maybe a little more yelling) when I saw this:

Girl Scout Cookie Larabars

I about fell out of my chair. Not only that they were Girl Scout cookies, but that they were my FAVORITE Girl Scout cookies.

Oh My.

I made them tonight. Upon first taste, they were okay. Definitely good, but not Samoa good. Upon second taste, it hit me – the texture of the caramel from the dates, the crunch of the cookie from the chocolate, the coconut. It was Samoa, it was paleo, it was heaven. Upon third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, and tenth tastes, it got even better. Everything was right, nothing was missing and I can officially un-stalk those peppy little girls set up at the grocery stores.

(I tweaked the recipe a little. I added about 50% more chocolate – and used dark chocolate chips. They were very sticky, so I rolled them into little balls, flattened them into fat discs, then sprinkled them with more shredded coconut and pressed a little chocolate chip into the top so they had the Samoa’s round, donut shape. Oh, and I made a triple batch.)

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Paleo! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to PALEO GIRL SCOUT COOKIES!!!

  1. Laurel says:

    Very similar to the Almost Oatmeal cookies, which I ate. Tried to save you one. I even brought one to Mojos on Monday but you were off. I ate it.

  2. lowcarbcookery says:

    This recipe looks awesome! I just discovered larabars and I am now addicted

  3. Megan says:

    I hope you love this recipe as much as I did!! Or maybe not quite as much since I can’t stop eating them!!

  4. Megan says:

    I was wondering where my cookie was!!

  5. Dawn says:

    I love these cookies – especially when you make them, O’Malley!!

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

