An A-Team Reunion

All Smiles

Little Dogs Have More Fun

Apparently doggie daycare is not recession proof. Okay, so anyone could have told you that taking your dog to be played with and cooed over is a luxury service…but I had read so many articles about how people polled were not cutting back on pet services, toys or treats. After all, look at how far we’ve come in the last 50 or so years. Dogs used to be a backyard ornament, a house protector and a garbage disposal. Now our dogs push us out of our beds; knock us over to greet strangers; and fill their bellies with human-grade, organic foods. For many, our dogs are our children and our children get the best. We continuously make sacrifices for the ones we love and luckily (for them and for us) dogs are now falling into this category too. So while cutting back is definitely a priority for dog moms and dads, I honestly didn’t think MoJo’s would see this much of a decline in revenue.

But though we’re in the doghouse, so to speak, we have a plan. And by we, I’m of course referring to Dawn and myself. The A-Team. Team MoJo’s. We’re an idea-striking, renovating, researching, dog-hugging, people-loving dynamic duo. We cut back on staff hours, but thank goodness MoJo’s Backyard has THE BEST staff. They understand the situation we’re in and are willing to stick through this rough patch until thinks start looking up. (We went from averaging 35 daycare dogs a day to 15.) I’m on the floor full time (so instead of paying me to be in the office and someone else to be on the floor, I’m taking the floor hours and working extra to keep up with essential office work) and Dawn is helping a couple nights a week and on Sunday mornings. Payroll has always been the biggest expense for us because we are in the business of lovin’ on dogs and you can’t logistically love on dogs without the people. So with these payroll cuts and news of the A-Team back in action, things are starting to become manageable and hopefully we’ll see this recession through to its tail-end.

A-Team Member 1

A-Team Member 1

A-Team Member 2

A-Team Member 2

And though it’s long days for me, I’m having a ball. In fact, you could say that I’m like a Labrador with a tennis ball: gleeful, tired and fulfilled. Pencil-pushing has never been my forte and while I love the responsibility of running MoJo’s and keeping things in order, I always found some time to sneak out of the office to play with the dogs. (Why work in a doggie daycare if you don’t get to throw some tennis balls, play tug-of-war or rub some bellies?) Now I’m a bona-fide, full-time ear-rubbing, nose-kissing, ball-retrieving, neck-hugging doggie daycare staff member. The dogs love me and I them. I’m back, baby, and look forward to seeing your dog’s smiling face. ☺

P.S. I did pick up a copy of The Elements of Style the other day. So bear with me and the periods will migrate into the correct nooks, the subjects and verbs will begin agreeing and relationships should start making sense. But the parentheses, the fragments and the exclamation points stay. It is The Elements of Style and not The Lack of Style after all.

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Daycare Days and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An A-Team Reunion

  1. You guys will pull through just fine, you’re the best of the best! When I started 35 dogs was a holiday weekend!! I’ll see if I can’t rustle up some time to volunteer …. I miss mopping up pee…

  2. dawn says:

    i am so glad that i got contacts. my glasses give an awful glare.

    You are my favorite lab with a tennis ball, o’malley!!!!
    d

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

