Houndibal Lecter

"Hello Clarice"

Well, it’s happened. I’ve become a soccer mom. But replace soccer with daycare and the kids with dogs. Every weekday morning I get up at 5am, sneak out of the house without waking up the kids, workout, come home around 6:30, load the 4 dogs into the car and carpool everyone to MoJo’s where I spend the day working and they spend the day socializing. It’s exhausting putting on collars and leashes and gentle leaders and harnesses and shuffling everyone out to the car before I’ve had my morning coffee. Luckily, I have Jerritt to help with this leg. But when I get to MoJo’s, I’m a single mom, toting the dogs by two’s like Noah. All of this would be fine, just dandy, perfectly manageable…if it weren’t for Tetsy.

I’m trying my best to understand why he thinks that every passing car is a giant that must be valiantly struck down. My poor Don Quixote… Though I love him to pieces, his loud, whiny hound bark is infuriating at 7 in the morning BEFORE I’ve had my coffee. I say again: BEFORE I’ve had my coffee. Not even Jerritt can get away unscathed if he tries to talk too much before I’ve had coffee. Tetsy doesn’t have a chance in the world.

My brilliant idea was to muzzle him for the 7 min car ride to MoJo’s. If he can’t open his mouth, he can’t bark, right? *Now, I will digress here by saying that I don’t like muzzles. In fact, I place them on my dislikes list with those scary spikey collars – sometimes necessary but still unpleasant. The sight of a dog in a muzzle conjures all kinds of ill will and heebie jeebies. But if it keeps me from running my car into a pole while turned around trying to silence the wayward hound, then I can make an exception.* For the first car ride, I was right. Things went great. Though Tet didn’t enjoy the muzzle, he didn’t thrash around and refuse to get in the car. Success #1. On the trip to work, every glance in the rear view mirror gave me this glimpse: Tetsy pacing back and forth while Paco, with a very annoyed look in is eyes, got tossed to and fro by his brother’s moving. But things were quiet. Success #2.

The second day was a little less successful. Although Tetsy became a little more comfortable wearing his muzzle, he did learn that he was able to bark WITHOUT opening his mouth. Given, it’s a much more muted, succinct bark, but a bark nonetheless. And by now, I think the original distraction from the novelty has worn off. He’s the same old Tet in the car -barking, pacing, crying- but the decibels have been reduced by a very noticeable factor. Success #2.5

Updates, Updates, Updates:

Seeing as it’s been a while since I’ve blogged, here’s what’s going on with me and MoJo’s Backyard πŸ™‚

-Jerritt has started at the Police Academy. He’s having a great time learning how to become “The Law.”

-Triathlon season has begun. I have the Red Hills Tri coming up on April 3rd and I’m scared beyond reason to 1. swim in a lake and 2. bike those hills.

-Dawn and I are moving fast and furious on all things BFF Dog Ranch. Expect to see great things from us this year (I know we’ve said that for 2 years now, but we have dug our heels in and are getting stuff done!)

-The Fav Foto Fri winner was very obvious to anyone who looked at the comments:

Bear has got a lot of fans both at MoJo’s and at home. Congrats, handsome, and enjoy your free spa day at doggie daycare πŸ™‚

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Daycare Days, My Doggies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Houndibal Lecter

  1. tucker smith says:

    bear #5

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

