Spring :)

These lovely ladies are long gone.

Springtime! I love it when the days stretch their long legs out and the world turns green again. Jerritt has lovingly (and a little begrudgingly) let me adorn the deck with plants once more. Let me fill you in on my black-thumbed history.

I’m a plant serial killer. An unwilling plant serial killer? An accidental plant serial killer? Whatever you call me, you must know this: I love plants in all their green glory. But I habitually kill them. Overwater? Check. Underwater? Check. Prune too much? Check. Prune to little? Check. Leave to nature? Check. Keep in windowsill? Check. There is no corner too bright or too dark. I will find a way to kill a plant. My dad always used to give me 2-3 plants when I visited Panama City. Little cuttings, seedlings or full grown plants. Flowering clover, plump Jade trees or purple peppers. Didn’t matter. 3 months later they would all look the same: shriveled, brown and defeated. Case in point: my sweet neighbor, Susan, gave me an aloe plant when Jerritt and I moved into our current house. I left it in the windowsill and forgot to water it. It became floppy and limp. I moved him outside to get some fresh air, sunshine and rain. He drowned. I told my dad and his response was, “it’s really hard to kill an aloe plant.” But that’s me. I will find a way. I’ve since stopped taking plants from my dad. It’s too hard to bring home a hopeful little guy, a reminder of home and watch as he’s smothered by my love or neglect.

But…I just can’t resist the warm weather and sunshine. I crave to be outside and growing things make me happy. So Jerritt went with me to pick out some perky little “drought-tolerant” babies from the local nursery. We joke that they can identify my entrance by the slasher movie music that intros your favorite psyco-serial killer Norman Bates in that infamous shower scene. In any case, I’ve pledged to try the drought-tolerance-y of these plants to their max. I figure I can do at least that.

____________________________________________________________________

Springtime at MoJo’s means an Easter egg sale! I’m putting together a fundraiser to help out It’s Meow or Never by selling plastic eggs filled with prizes. Well, not all will have a prize, but that’s part of the fun 🙂 Some are filled with dog haikus, sayings and jokes. Here are a few of my favorites:

I love my master;

Thus I perfume myself with

This long-rotten squirrel.

*

The cat is not all

Bad-she fills the litter box

With Tootsie Rolls

*

If you think dogs can’t count, try putting three dog biscuits in your pocket and then giving Fido only two of them.  ~Phil Pastoret

If you get to thinking you’re a person of some influence, try ordering somebody else’s dog around.  ~Will Rogers

Near this spot are deposited the remains of one who possessed Beauty without Vanity, Strength without Insolence, Courage without Ferocity, and all the Virtues of Man, without his Vices.  This Praise, which would be unmeaning Flattery if inscribed over human ashes, is but a just tribute to the Memory of Boatswain, a Dog.  ~George Gordon, Lord Byron, “Inscription on the Monument of a Newfoundland Dog”

Anybody who doesn’t know what soap tastes like never washed a dog.  ~Franklin P. Jones

Dogs feel very strongly that they should always go with you in the car, in case the need should arise for them to bark violently at nothing right in your ear.  ~Dave Barry

“A house without either a cat or a dog is the house of a scoundrel.” – Portuguese Proverb

“Confucius says Shitzu happens.”

____________________________________________________________________

And I did not forget about Fav Foto Fri! Your lovely winner for the month is this little grey and white face:

Congrats Tess! You’ve been awarded a Spa Day at MoJo’s Backyard 🙂

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Blogging, Favorite Foto Friday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring :)

  1. Christa Ellis says:

    Megan, please remind me to not give you any plants. You killed an aloe? Really??? I didn’t think that was possible.
    I love the article you wrote. You always makes me smile. 🙂

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

