Life is Good

Spoiler Alert: This blog has little if nothing to do with dogs.

Well, I suppose you’ve been wondering where I’ve been, what I’ve been up to, what antics the dogs have gotten into and where was Favorite Foto Friday?

The answer to all these questions can be found in one word: Life

After the Oscar Party at MoJo’s Backyard, I came up with the crazy idea that we should get together a bunch of donations, fill a bunch of plastic Easter eggs with dog sayings and jokes, tuck a few eggs with prizes into the mix and sell the eggs to our clients. The recipient of the money collected was It’s Meow or Never for Ferals run by an AMAZING woman who traps, neuters and returns feral kitties in the Tallahassee area. Yeah, I don’t have the best track record with cats, but I’m all for keeping any stray population down. I became so absorbed with the eggs that I totally forgot about Fav Foto Fri. Oh, and also this:

I competed in the Red Hills Triathlon 2 weekends ago! We all think it was my best time ever (though I’ve finished in less time on a shorter course): 1 hr 46 min 33 sec. I haven’t sat down to figure out the minutes per mile but I do know that it was the best feeling triathlon I’ve done. Usually when I come across the finish line, my lungs are burning, my muscles are jello and I’m mentally punishing myself for ever coming up with the crazy idea in the first place.

My first tri was in PCB. It was a great course: straight, flat and beachy. By the run, I was struggling to put one foot in front of the other just so I didn’t fall flat on my face.

My second tri was the same course, just later in the season. The bike was awful. Sure, I was on a mountain bike. But I had done the previous tri on the same bike and made it just fine. The wind was atrocious that day, at some points, you would come around a 15-story condo and the wind would hit so hard you thought you were going backwards. Towards the end I was biking and singing “Lean on Me” out loud (and I only know about 2 verses) just to distract myself from the pain and overwhelming desire to throw down my bike and quit.

My third tri was in Jacksonville. There were waves over my head. You’ve got to know that swimming is my worst leg of the triathlon and that I’m still scared of drowning. I got tossed in the waves trying to make it out to the buoy. I hit the sandy bottom with my head and scraped up my arms. I almost died. But, I made it out. If it hadn’t have been for the 2 gallons of Atlantic water sloshing around in my belly, the bike and the run would have been beautiful.

But Red Hills went beautifully. The swim still gave me the most trouble. But the bike was over unexpectedly fast and I felt like I was coasting (COASTING!) on the run.

This time, I felt strong and almost immediately ready to sign up for the next race. To what do I owe my body finally coming around to the idea that triathlons are a permanent part of its life? It wasn’t the training. My routine was about the same, maybe even a little less than normal. It certainly wasn’t the course. Red Hills boasts being the hardest sprint distance tri in Florida. I honestly think that it was mental preparation and boot camp training. Mental preparation meaning that I scared the bajeezes out of myself beforehand so the course wasn’t as hard as I had imagined every night in my sleep. And boot camp training meaning that pushing myself with Laurel, Mike and Bean 3 times a week kept my non-triathlon muscles in shape. Having all-over body strength seems to be key to prevent hitting a mid-race wall.

And Laurel has since buried this idea into the back of my head that I just can’t shake. She posted this crazy (crazy as in only mental people would even think about torturing themselves in this way) event called the Tough Mudder on her Facebook wall. It’s a 7-mile course with 13 obstacles interspersed throughout the race. The obstacles are all designed by British SAS and apparently you have to be tough, fit and crazy to do it. Tough Mudders will be crawling on their bellies, sloshing through waist-deep mud, leaping off platforms, pulling themselves over log walls and running through fire. I was on board when I read “British SAS.” So we’ve put a team together (mostly Boot Camp people) and are working towards Miami in 2011.

Since deciding that I have a whole year to harden my body into SAS worthy shape, I’ve set some lofty goals. By the time the event rolls around, I will have:

-conditioned my arms to do 100 uninterrupted non-girlie push-ups and 20 real pull-ups

-completed 3 more triathlons, one of which I will come in under 1 hr and 20 mins (that’s 26 mins off my time)

-run my first marathon in under 4 hours

Ack, is scares me just typing it on the computer! But I don’t plan on doing any one of those things alone. I have the best support team that a girl could ask for and I know together, we can make it happen 🙂

Peace, Love & Dogs,

Megan, Paco, Tetsy, Chloe and Misha

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life is Good

  1. Robin Adams says:

    You’re an animal, Megan! And you will accomplish all of your goals this year and next, I have no doubt whatsoever. Reading about Boot Camp makes me want to do it even more – all things are possible with help and support!

  2. Megan says:

    You SHOULD try boot camp, Robin! I promise it will help with your runs. Having your core and balance worked improves everything you do. They have classes on Saturdays that you can pay and drop-in, you don’t have to sign a contract so that’s an easy way to try it out. Or, I think Laurel even offers 1 free trial class now.

    P.S. you are part of my help and support too! Thanks for all you’ve done for me 😀

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

