Sleep, it does a body good.

So, Tuesday turned out to be an “easy” day. I made it to the pool and managed to get in 10 laps before thunder was declared the winner and I had to cut my swim short. Then, due to some still-sore calves, I decided to nix the scheduled RealRyder class and Jerritt and I hiked the Cadillac trail at Tom Brown instead. Though the pace was pretty slow, I LOVED the route and chalked the 4 miles up to a scouting excursion. I’m extremely excited to get on that trail for a couple of hours of jogging with a 30lb pack. Some decent hills, a couple of tricky ascents and lots of twisty turns will make for a fun workout.

Yesterday, I had Personal Training with Ricky and then a short, quick run after. I had asked Ricky to make my PT harder after reading those articles and I did tap out a couple of times during the session. 20 minutes (not in one go!) of moving ropes will do that to you. My arms had a very nice burn for the remainder of the night, which I have to say I enjoyed a lot. Our run was about 34 mins and we covered about 3.6 miles. Doesn’t sound that impressive, but we were both running on still painful legs (from the stadium) and started out slow but picked up speed on the return. After, I rolled my legs at the Boot Camp gym while chatting with Laurel and Mike. I joked that we were the infirmary section because all three of us were in a corner rolling something. You gotta love those guys and you gotta love that gym. It was the run or the rolling or both, but by the time I got home, I was walking normally for the first time in 3 days! Joy!

After a deliciously hot shower, Jerritt and I went out to dinner (I ate so many veggies!) and ran a couple of errands. We got home about 8pm and I passed out at 9. I got to sleep until the alarm went off at 7am (with one interruption at 3am to let the dogs out). 10 hours of sleep! If only I could do that every night. I felt A-MAZ-ING when I woke up and kicked butt at my IndoRow class this morning. I was strong the entire hour and even managed to get to 10,000 meters before Ricky 😉 (But let me confess that Ricky was running on 3-4 hours of sleep, had done Kettlebell swings after our run the night before and was admittedly not working as hard as he could have been.) Even so, we were neck and neck to the end with me calling out my meters to keep him competing, my muscles screaming at me for oxygen, until I hit that mark before him. I do feel pretty good about myself, thank you very much.

Tomorrow is PT with Ricky and then maybe a 3 mile run after. Saturday a swim and Sunday the Tallahassee Half Marathon which I will be talking very slowly since my first ever FULL marathon is the following Sunday! I am excited, anxious and eager to get it over with! I’ve been telling everyone that I hope to qualify for the Boston Marathon with a time under 3 hours and 40 minutes which I’m told would be impressive for a first timer. And while I think I have it in me, I just don’t know what to expect since my longest run ever is 24 miles (and it was run much slower than race pace). At this point, I’m just tired of thinking about it and want to know if I’ll be running that great Bean Town race in 2012 or not.

Now, for some shameless promoting. I can’t help it, I love these guys! Tallahassee residents, you are SERIOUSLY missing out if you aren’t in one of these fitness programs:

Boot Camp Fitness and Training on Industrial Plaza Dr.

Sweat Therapy in Midtown

They have the best programs, the best people and the best equipment! I’ve been with Boot Camp for 3 or 4 years now and with Sweat Therapy since they opened last year. I don’t think it can get better than these for results and variety.

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sleep, it does a body good.

  1. Marissa says:

    Another great post. Keep up all the hard work you are doing 🙂 Very inspiring! And I’m sure you can make the time… Just believe you can do it!

  2. Megan says:

    Thanks, Marissa!

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

