Skinned

Sunday, Ricky and I had our third official Death Race workout (the first being 3 hours of moving kettlebells and the second being the 2 hours of stadium stairs). We met at 0630 and proceeded to do 3 hours of tag team overhead holds. While our partner flipped tires down the parking lot and back or ran a lap around the block (about .6 miles), the other had to hold their post overhead. We did so by picking up the dangly end and keeping it in the air via an extended overhead press. Obviously, Mr. Log was Ricky’s friend and Mr. Weighted Bar was mine. We managed to do 3 sets of tire flips each, 3 laps around the block each, 3 tire sets, 3 laps and finished with 3 tire sets. It was monotonous, seemingly never-ending and got tougher after each set but was altogether doable. So doable, in fact, that Ricky proceeded to row 19,000 meters in an hour and a half later that day. Me? I ate half a pizza and a bunch of Girl Scout cookies 😉

But I didn’t escape unscathed. About 700 tire flips (Ricky’s estimate) left me with, not blisters, but 4 peeled fingers and left the tire with little souvenirs of my skin.

I got to tape up my wounds at the Boot Camp gym today and do PT which was a mixture of push-ups, planks, crunches, leg-raises, ball-wall and back extensions. It was a nice, smooth burn.

There is some soreness in my hamstrings and forearms and of course the unbendable fingers, but I’m pretty happy with our Death Race progress. I’m learning with every workout that the discomfort fades, the soreness dissipates and the skin regrows but the knowledge that these very difficult tasks are possible stays with me and helps me push through when the next one arises.

This week I’m getting back in the game after a week of tapering and a week of recovery. Tomorrow I have a long swim and then a 75-min RealRyde class. Then 2-3 workouts a day leading up to Sunday when Laurel gets to play grand schemer and orchestrate our 4th official Death Race workout. It’s a big surprise and I can’t wait to be tested.

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skinned

  1. Laurel says:

    It’s going to be nasty!!

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

