Death Race Correspondence

Got this email from the Undertaker today:

Sacajawea would have ditched most of you by now but we’re still confident that you can finish the first task.  You were asked to get a article written in your local paper.  Many of you jumped on this task right away and many of you have procrastinated.
We are taking this article seriously as it’s part of the 2011 Death Race.  We are hoping that you choose to take it serious as well.  Those of you who choose not to get the article will be given three options.
#1 – Drop out of the race.   You will not start the race.
#2 – Show up clean shaven from head to toe.  All body hair must be removed by 6:00 p.m. June 24th.  This includes eye brows, pubic area, and head.  ALL hair must be removed and if that is done you will not have a penalty.  You will start the race with everyone else.
#3 – You accept your penalty and you move a hay bale from Amee Farm (800 feet elevation) to the top of the mountain (2,300 fee elevation) via “The Ravine”  Hay bale must be on top of the mountain by 5 p.m. on the 24th to allow you to get to the mandatory meeting by 6 p.m. on the 24th.  Joe and I did the exact route with one and it took us 3 plus hours.  I had some sort of insect infastation on my arms, chest, and neck for a week, Joe popped a blood vessel in his eye, we were banged up from slipping in the ravine, and cut up from the briars but we made it and you can to.  Note: We double teamed the hay and it took 3 1/2 hours.  You’ll be going one on one so plan accordingly.  Must reach summit by 5 p.m. and return by 6 p.m. to start the race with everyone else.
Best of luck!
Note:  Registration is open for 2012 and the first 50 people will get the discounted $200 entry fee.  Once we hit 50 athletes the rate will go up.  Hope you’ll join us.  Visit www.peakraces.com
Andy

Andy is referring to our very first task as Death Racers, apparently the race has already begun. Over Christmas, we all got an email telling us to get an article published in our local paper about our participation in the 2011 Death Race. If you chose not to do this, you would face an unnamed penalty at the race. Mystery #1 solved. Ricky and I were successful in our task thanks to a hook up by Boot Camp owner, Laurel. Thanks, L! My body hair is eternally grateful.

You may or may not be able to read our article here: Tallahassee Democrat. Our local publication is subscription only online but sometimes you can read an article without one. Don’t know how that works…

Previous correspondence included:

-our Second Hint: “We would suggest Church over training,” (it’s worth mentioning that I never got a First Hint…are the mind games beginning already?)

-and this little gem after I told Andy that I had very lofty goals in the upcoming 2 years: “Great goals.  You can’t compare the Death Race to Kona.  I guess you could if you did the swim in blue jeans and a hoodie, bike leg on a BMX bike with flat tires and you ran the 26 miles pulling a truck tire.  I admire the fact that you have a goal to finish the Death Race but please understand that it’s not likely.  I’m thinking 10% will finish next year.”

I like the playful attitude that Andy takes towards the most serious of topics (that being death, of course).

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race Info and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Death Race Correspondence

  1. Marissa says:

    Ummm…wow! Good thing you got that article in! I have to admit though, the only thing I think I would REALLY have issues shaving is my eyebrows. That is what really made me go “that’s crazy!” when I read it. And Andy’s e-mail is a little scary! Just visualizing those scenarios and knowing how intense Kona apparently is made me cringe… Keep up all your hard work 😀 Ya’ll ROCK!

  2. Laurel says:

    A copy of the article is on my blog.

    http://www.bootcampstogo.com/blog/

    See you on Sunday!

  3. Megan says:

    I know! I’m hoping that he was exaggerating on the Kona one, but I’m beginning to fear that he is not. My new strategy is to go slow and steady and hope I don’t get taken out for not making a cut-off…

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

