I miss running.

Well, not too much to report on the training side of things:

Thursday: off because of knees and elbow

Friday: off

Saturday: an easy-paced 30 miles on the bike with Mike and Karen. Biking didn’t bother my knees, but was definitely an awakening for my butt, which hadn’t had that much time in the saddle before.

Sunday: Death race workout with Ricky at the Boot Camp gym. We started at 9am and ended right around 1:20pm. We did 3 1-hour rounds of the same 3 exercises. For example: First Round – 10 tornado balls, 4 pull-ups, 8 overhead presses, then repeat. Ricky’s exercises were a bit different since he could use his knees. We had about 5-10 minute breaks between rounds and ended with 15 mins of 2 exercises. I remember doing planks, rows, dead-lifts, push-ups, presses on the bench, rope-slams, bar circles on the ab disc and simulated Burn Machine.

Monday:

PT – rope pulls, medicine ball throws, abs, back extensions, TRX and ended with grip-strengthening.

SWIM – 30 mins of technique. Moderate to easy pace working on stroke.

Tuesday: SWIM – 1500 meters. 250 warm-up, 500 moderate pace, 500 sprints, 250 technique. Finished in 42 minutes, a record time for me!

I’ve been taking NSAIDs, icing my knees once a day and will hopefully be back out on the trails by Sunday! I’m jonesing bad for a run.

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

