Silver Lining

So, I’ve been going a little insane lately not being able to do the workouts that are so strategically laid out on my training schedule. I’m missing out on my favorite leg of the tri: the run, and my stronger leg of the tri: the bike. That’s just left me with my weakest leg: the swim. And I’ve been doing a lot of swimming. I’ve made it to the pool everyday this week so far. In a regular week, if I had to choose between workouts, I would always favor anything over the swim, guiltily knowing that I should be working on my limiting leg.

But all this time in the pool has really paid off. I’m not dreading the swims anymore, I’m getting swim strength and endurance and every now and then, I can feel my stroke fall into sync and it’s like a perfect little moment in the pool (granted, these moments are brief and far and few inbetween).

I’m choosing to take the high road and say that my bum knees have really given me a chance to improve something, that before, I was unwilling to commit to with my whole heart. And, let’s face it, with the upcoming Half Ironman, I did really need this. Because if I can’t bike the 56 miles, I can hop off, if I can’t run the 13.1 miles, I can walk, but if I can’t swim the 1.2 miles, I drown.

Training Report –

Wednesday:

Short swim (about 800 meters) working on stroke.

PT – Ricky had rigged up this torture contraption consisting of a looped rope with one end around a pole and the other end feeding up through two stacked stools. I was made to stand on top of the stools (about 3-4 feet off the ground) and pull the rope UP continuously for an undetermined amount of time (well, Ricky seemed to have a determined amount of time in mind but did not share it with me). I did several rounds of that with overhead presses, abs on a disc and planks between. I was sore all over the rest of the night.

Thursday: 1250 meters in the pool. 250 warm-up, 500 moderate pace, 500 sprints. I had meant to spend an hour in the pool for 2000 meters, but got there a little late and didn’t realize the pool closed from 0830-1130. Sigh.

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silver Lining

  1. dawn says:

    so proud of you, o’malley. your mental strength is your very strongest leg!! love you.

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

