7,000 Reps of Doom

Friday: off

Saturday: Short swim just to get some stroke work in.

Sunday: Death Race workout with Ricky at the Boot Camp gym.

-Earlier in the week, Ricky had handed me a folded piece of paper. The outside was simply labeled, “Doom.” The inside instructed me to make a list of every exercise I could think of that would not bother my knees and to copy down a 4 line poem, limerick or sonnet.

-Later, it was suggested to bring food because Ricky was not sure how long we would be at the gym.

-Upon arrival at 9am on Sunday, Ricky’s plan of doom was revealed. We were to do 7,000 reps, yes, that is 7 thousand, while attempting to memorize our 4 lines. At the end, we would recite our quote out loud.

-How it went down: 200 reps in a set (this could be any combination of exercises). After 200, mark your set on the board and take 10 seconds to flip open your paper and scan your lines.

-How it felt: Okay, so 7,000 reps seems like insanity when you’re setting out. Especially when you’re marking off 200 at a time and start to realize that you have A LOT more marks to put on the board before you’re even halfway finished. But, just as the burpee lap seemed impossible and was completed, so were the 7,000 reps of doom. Even though I had filled up a notebook sheet of exercises, I stuck to the same trusty 10-15 the entire time. Mostly bicycles, dead-bugs, bar circles on the ab disc, rows, presses with resistance bands, push-ups, triceps, back extensions, overhead presses, curls, ball slams and russian twists. I tried to do sub-sets of 50 to keep my sanity, though I did lose count at one point and probably did 100 more reps than I needed to.

-As for the memorization, my strategy was to memorize about 5 words at a time and cumulate as I went along. I had my lines pretty well memorized after the first 5 sets of 200. Ricky had given me a bonus line which I worked on after that. The thing is, I started getting tired about half way through my reps and would forget what words came in the middle or if it was an “and” or an “or” between two words. At one point, I forgot how the whole thing began. As my body got tired, my mind went with it. These Death Race organizers know how to get you.

-I hit my 7,000 at 3 hours and 55 mins. Ricky, of course, finished before me. We recited our verses (I had one hiccup in my bonus line, Ricky added about 3 “the’s” but otherwise did well on his), rolled our backs and went on our merry ways.

Here are our boards of glory:

My lines: If everything is smooth sailing right from the beginning, we cannot become people of substance and character. By surmounting paining setbacks and obstacles, we can create a brilliant history of triumph that will shine forever. Bonus: even if I don’t reach all my goals, I’ve gone higher than I would have if I hadn’t set any.

Oh yeah, I just wrote that from memory 2 days later ūüôā

Ricky’s lines:

Phlebas the Phoenician, a fortnight dead,
Forgot the cry of gulls, and the deep sea swell
And the profit and loss.
A current under sea
Picked his bones in whispers.

I’m in the middle of my 2nd week off from lower body because my knees didn’t seem to be feeling better. I’ll be swimming until I can resume leg workouts. Thursday is the big day and I’m hoping to be able to ease back into running at that point. Laurel is orchestrating our Death Race workout for this coming weekend and though it is all very hush-hush, Ricky and I have gathered that there will be stump digging and hot dog eating. Can’t wait for this one ūüėÄ

Monday: off

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7,000 Reps of Doom

  1. dawn says:

    i love your quote megan!! you are impressive!!

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

