What can grow 20 times larger then disappear?

Find the answer below.

Friday: PT at the Boot Camp gym and then Ricky ran 15 on the roads while I biked 30. It’s been a while since I’ve pushed the pace on the bike so I decided to give it a steady go. Not all-out race effort, but definitely a sweaty pace. I was disappointed at the end to find that I was only averaging about 16 mph, but it was a pretty hilly loop and I haven’t been biking as much as I should be with the upcoming 1/2 Ironman :p

I had a little run in with some nature on my second loop. I was about 3 miles in and felt something whack me hard in the head. For a second, I though it was tree litter falling from the sky but then I felt a burning pain on my forehead. I managed to get my helmet off before braking to a complete stop and upon inspection discovered some sort of black and yellow winged insect stuck inside my helmet. I re-fit my helmet loosely and rode back to the car with a fiery head, a threatening headache and a slight panic about anaphylactic shock. Once I was in front of a mirror, I could pull the stinger out and curse the bug and all his little friends to you know where. After the initial surprise wore off, I was able to make the remaining 4 laps without incident, though I do now have an itchy, red knot on my head.

Saturday was an off day. I spent almost the entire day working Peace in the Streets for MoJo’s.

Sunday was Death Race workout day. Ricky and I met at 6:30am and drove out to Dawn’s house. We arrived a little after 7 and after getting our gear settled in, we started chopping. There was much chopping that morning.

I managed to get an oak log cut into 5 smaller pieces

and a pine log split in two.

Ricky worked on some HUGE pine logs and had quite a nice pile stacked up by the time we left. And his pile of logs was not the only thing growing while we were there. Cotton shirts are not conducive to wood chopping.

It started with a mushrooming sleeve and evolved into what you see above. It was a cap-sleeved top, then a halter top, then a muscle tee. At one point there was a matching headband and finally, there was no resemblance whatsoever to a tee-shirt (or any clothing for that matter).

We took 2 time outs from chopping to work on fire starting. Ricky managed to get 2 workable flames going while I struggled just like the last time we were at Dawn’s. I only managed to get one fledgling flame going with the help of some pine sap that Ricky chopped out of one of his logs, but it poofed out of existence at the mere thought of adding pine straw to the pile. I do believe that it’s the revenge of the black thumb. I have never been able to keep plants alive, even though I love them so much. Nature seems to be telling me that I am also unable to nurture a flame.

We finished at 1:00pm. I figure we got about 3.5 hours of wood chopping in and 2 hours of fire starting. The chopping was hard and sweaty work, but also gratifying. I like having visible confirmation of progress. My precision is getting better as well. The more I chopped, the more I was able to land the blade where I wanted it. The fire starting was extremely frustrating and I just don’t know what I’m going to do about my inability to make the most basic of necessities.

Workout update: Wood chopping is apparently the best workout ever. Last night I was wiped. Ricky? He ran a 5k, took 1st in his age group and 3rd overall. Then he worked out for 2 more hours. I was moving like a turtle and mostly sat the rest of the night. Today, all my muscles are sore, even my thumbs.

Answer to riddle: Ricky’s sleeve!

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What can grow 20 times larger then disappear?

  1. Eversoris says:

    again, i am willing to hang on to “the shirt” if anyone wants Death Race workout memorabilia. maybe you could hold some sort of raffle for your readers to participate in…..just an idea.

    otherwise, it’s on its way out for trash this thursday….

  2. Megan says:

    a raffle? how would that work? what else would we raffle? who would want your sweaty mushroom shirt?

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

