There is no me without you.

I would like to take a minute out of my training blogging to say how grateful I am to these people:

Me and Jerritt after the White Sands Tri

Jerritt, I know you think I’m crazy. I know that I’m never home and when I am home, I’m either sleeping or too achy to move. I think that you’re the only person on the planet who would put up with my demanding schedule and still be supportive when I go out for more punishment. I also think you’re the only person on the planet who would take care of my needy hound dogs the many hours that I’m away. You’re the guy for me and I love you!

What the heck? I have no recent pictures of me and Dawn facing the camera...Oh well, here we are before White Sands (and Jerritt in the middle).

Dawn, you’re my best friend and I love you. I doubt very much that when we first met, you thought you would be touring all of Florida to stand around and wait for hours just for a glimpse of me as I run by. The finish line is all the more sweet because you are there at the end. And now we’re going to Vermont! For a race where I may die! You are by far my biggest fan and I know that many professional athletes don’t have a groupie like I have in you. O’m and o’d forever!

I ā¤ my mom and dad

Mom and Dad – It’s good to have someone on the side worrying about my health and my sanity too, I’m sure. You guys keep me grounded and pull me back when I’m too inflated to slow down and assess what is really in the realm of possibility. You guys taught me strength, perseverance against adversity, and humility, all qualities that I must call on during every single race.

Me and Karen after the Tallahassee Half Marathon

Karen, you turned me into this monster! First, it was, “Hey, let’s do this beginning running group.” Then it was, “Hey, let’s do this half marathon.” Then it was, “Hey, let’s do a triathlon.” The things I let you talk me into… And now I’m off to race with death! I love the person that you’ve helped me become and I can’t wait until we’re standing together at the FINISH line of the Florida Ironman!

I have no photos of me and Laurel, but here is one of her helping us get through a Death Race simulation šŸ™‚

Laurel, who knows where I would be today if Dawn hadn’t turned me on to Boot Camp so many years ago. I would not have met so many strong, athletic, supportive people and might never have gotten into races at all. I remember when you were working Boot Camp out of a dirt back lot and now you’re the talk of Tallahassee! Boot Camp is a success because you put so much of YOU into it. I love the energy and passion that you throw into everything you do.

Likewise, I have no photos of the MoJos crew so a pic of our sweet Ciri-dog will have to do.

The MoJo’s Crew, for all those days when I was too sore to move, had ankle or knee problems, or just talked you to death about workouts, I thank you for putting up with me. You guys are my friends and I’m so proud of what all of you have accomplished this year!

My Tri crew

My Runner Girls

Me and Crazy-Kate, shes down for any crazy race.

The BFF and me. Wendy lives on the other side of the plant (basically) but still calls to make sure Im alive.

My friends, training buddies and fellow racers, you are the greatest support team a gal could have. All your encouragement, congratulations and friendly competition push me harder, faster, further. I love Tallahassee for all the fit, healthy, fun people that it has allowed me to meet.

Ricky and me before the Tallahassee Half Marathon

Ricky, I don’t even know where to start. I guess first, I had never met someone crazier than me until I met you. I think it’s good for both of us. You push me farther and I keep you from going off the edge of the world. I’ve had the best time training with you for the Death Race. Everything after this is going to look like a leisurely stroll through the wildflower, butterfly and rainbow-blanketed meadows. Second, I’m going to be lost without you when you move but rest assured that I will be trying to talk you into at least one crazy race a year. Third, DR in 70 days. Let’s do this, Thor.

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Journal, Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There is no me without you.

  1. Eversoris says:

    likewise, i’ve been able to unlock a lot within me that i otherwise would not have been able to find without training with you. you are by far the best training partner i have had and i hate that i have to give you up!

    i don’t think you’ll have to twist my arm for a yearly sign-up, i think the Death Race is going to be a multi-attempt, regardless of outcomes. then we can find something else to move on to ;).

    see you in the wee hours of the morning…

  2. stacey says:

    Megan..I hope you know what you mean to us…look at me I have Jean running a 5K and if it was not for your support and your inspiration we would never be running..Thank you for all that you do..

  3. dawn says:

    o’malley,
    you are my hero. you made me cry. now get training, i gotta go back to sleep.
    i love you (& not just to vermont and back)
    o’dalley

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

