Half Ironman in 10 days!

Here’s a quick catch-up:

Monday – 30 mile ride with Mike and Karen. Great day for a bike and I pushed it a little bit which felt good and also boosted my mood about the upcoming half a little.

Tuesday – off

Wednesday – 30 min swim

Thursday – 15 mile run. This took about 2 hours and 19 mins. The 1st 3-4 miles were horrific. I had to tell myself just to do 1 more 4-mile loop and if I still felt bad, I could cut the run short. By mile 5, I was feeling better, by mile 6, I was feeling great. I started to enjoy the run and felt strong all the way to the finish, running mostly negative splits 😀

Friday – Beginning of the Lifesport Triathlon Training Camp. We had a lecture on Nutrition, Gear, Pacing and Environment. Good stuff.

Saturday – Training Camp met at Lake Hall for swim training. Blah. Though I was the only one without a wetsuit, the water temp wasn’t too bad. We had talked gators beforehand so I was pretty freaked out in the water, but after a while, I was too tired to be scared. We practiced starts and had a couple of longer drills.

We met later that  afternoon for a double brick (bike, run, bike, run). I really pushed the pace on the bike and was  feeling good by the second half of the workout.

Sunday – Training Camp track workout. We did a warm-up, some drills and then pace work. This wasn’t bad at all and a nice way to spend a Sunday morning.

Monday – off

Tuesday – had planned for a swim and a run but spent the night waiting on the a/c repair guys instead :p

Wednesday – 2,000 meter swim workout. My goal for this one was to just go non-stop. Usually, I will break for a couple seconds every 500 meters. I wanted to make sure that I could do this 1.2 mile swim in open water without rest. It was a success and didn’t feel too bad either. My time was 50 minutes, so I’m pretty confident that I can live through the swim at Disney and still make the time cut-off.

Next week I’m supposed to be tapering, but with the Death Race starting in less than 50 days, I’m not sure that I’ll want to take an easy week. I feel like I haven’t had a hard workout since Ricky left and could really use some upper body punishment.

Tonight – 17 mile run

Saturday – 50 mile bike

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Half Ironman in 10 days!

  1. dawn says:

    50 days til vermont. wooo hoooo!!!!
    you are awesome, o’malley.

    wish i was coming to disney with you.
    love
    o’dalley

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

