Slacking and Cramming

I hope by the lack of updates you all have assumed that I’ve fallen off the training wagon because that’s exactly what has happened. I’ve had almost a full month off (with some intermittent runs thrown in here and there): one week for tapering for the Ironman 70.3, one week for recovery, one week of being sick with the plague, and one crazy-hectic week at work. Needless to say that when I looked at the countdown last week and saw that there were 21 days left until the race, I went into full-fledged panic mode.

After talking myself down a little, I came to the conclusion that I would be extra diligent about my training every day leading up to the race and will hopefully recover some semblance of the fitness level that I could claim back in May.

Getting started again is never easy. Not only do things feel hard because your body is out of routine, but your mind keeps telling you that this used to be easy. 2 months ago, you could have done this, no problem. You could have done 3 times this and not batted an eye. Now, you are heaving for breath and thinking that there is no way you can survive a 24-48 hour event. Or at least, that’s what I’ve been dealing with. Hopefully, it will go as everyone says and my endurance will come back fast. Otherwise, we are going to have a problem.

Last week, I ran some hills, I did a 5-mile run in the 100 degree heat (horrible), a 1-hour jog with bucket (it was light, but still awkward), a 4-mile trail race (35:27), 1 hour at the boot camp gym, 2 hours of wood chopping and a 4-mile trail run.

This week, I do at least 3 30-min sessions of upper body, 2 short runs, 3 1-hour hikes with loaded pack and weighted bucket, a longer run (13-15 miles) and 1 last Death Race workout before Ricky leaves town.

After that, 2 short runs, 2 more hikes, 2 upper body sessions, one 10-15 mile run, another go at wood chopping, another attempt at fire starting, re-learning knot tying and an afternoon at the pool diving to retrieve.

And that’s all I have. The plane leaves on Thursday, the 23rd. Friday night, we will begin this thing and I have set my goal to Finish, or make the 48-Hour mark. Whichever comes first. That gives me from Friday night until Sunday night to get very well acquainted with pain and my thresholds.

So far, here is our required gear list:

Death Race 2011 Gear List
1. Goggles
2. Dixon-Ticonderoga #2 Pencil
3. Hand Drill with 1/2 inch drill bit
4. Hand Saw
5. Tape Measure
6. Axe or Maul
7. 10′ Section of Climbing Rope

And we have one more homework assignment:

We have one more challenge before you get to town.  Each athlete must come up with 5 questions related to a survival scenario.  All questions must be a yes or no format or multiple choice.  Please provide answers to your multiple choice questions and explanation to the yes or no questions.

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race, Death Race Info and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slacking and Cramming

  1. Marissa says:

    I have a travel survival guide if you want to borrow it for ideas 🙂 Seriously it has everything from figuring out if a place is safe, to predicting local weather conditions, avoiding harassment to surviving in the arctic/mountains/desert/jungle/sea, to tying knots to field medicine, and even surviving lighting strikes or earthquakes. I’ve never read it all, just thought it looked cool and had great expectations of reading it one day 🙂

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

