Scare Tactics

There are some scary rumors going around on the Death Race Facebook page:
His biggest mistake in his first time out was his footwear, Cusick said. He wore desert combat boots.“I figured they would be best for me because I’m in my work boots all the time. But I needed something lighter,” he said.
He’s planning to buy cross-training shoes for this year’s race.
When Weinberg, the race co-founder, heard about Cusick’s plans he sent this message: “If you talk to John tell him not to spend too much money on nice shoes because this year they have to make their own shoes like the Shakers did.”
And that’s not just from one source, but two:
Said Weinberg, who might not be joking, this one will begin with all the entrants turning in their beloved running shoes and being forced to fashion a wooden pair of shoes using primitive tools. At the finish line, Weinberg said, all contestants will get two things – “a hearty handshake and a bag of manure.”
Bring it on. I’ve done the preparation. If it’s not enough, it’s not enough and I’ll make it as far as I make it. If we have to make our own wooden shoes from the suspicious list of gear we’ve been given: saw, hand drill, rope…then I will laugh (because that’s what I do in the face of the impossibly absurd), make my shoes, and suffer as long as possible.
About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race Info and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scare Tactics

  1. Marissa says:

    Hmm…can you throw in some sandpaper in your pack JUST in case? 🙂 I’m sure you and Ricky are going to do awesome! I look forward to seeing the pictures and reading all about it…

  2. Edie Ramsey says:

    Megan, you and Ricky are going to own this race! I can hardly wait to see the photos/posts/blog, etc on it!

  3. dawn says:

    i picture you with the roman gladiator style!!
    i’m getting excited ;oD

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

