Death Race 2011

I thought I should put up one last post before I go. We got our final gear list and it included all the original gear but subtracted the fish and added 1 carabiner, 1 twenty dollar bill and 2 one dollar bills. I weighed my pack with all required gear, a little optional gear and it came in at just around 16 lbs. Add water to the Platypus and a bottle of electrolytes on the side and it’ll probably round out to about 20. That’s easy enough, until we get there and they have us lugging 40 lbs of rocks, or sand, or hay…

And even though I’ve been complaining about being burnt out and then complaining about losing a month of training and not feeling fit for the race, I am getting quite excited. I have a strategy which involves going at a snail’s pace, watching other athletes drop like flies as the clock ticks away and finishing in my own time probably days after the start. I hope to have a finisher’s party with my awesome support crew and then sleep for days.

Dawn will be in charge of updating my Facebook status so everyone can keep tabs on me. Laurel will probably be posting pictures like crazy (she’s under Boot Camps To Go in Tallahassee, FL). And I promise to give a full race report when I get back and have use of my hands and faculties again (full as in everything that I can remember or piece together with the help of those who will be there). But most importantly, I vow to have FUN. I’m going to enjoy the mountains, the weather, the race and most of all, the pain. See you when I get back šŸ™‚

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race Info and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Death Race 2011

  1. Good Luck! I just found out about your upcoming adventure from your sister, Christa (we went to school together). I wish I had known earlier, so I could follow your preparations, but I do look forward to a race report! Again, good luck and have FUN!

  2. Eversoris says:

    Trudge. Suffer. Trudge. Suffer. Each task completed, each trip up and down the mountain, every checkpoint reached is a finish line. Let’s string together as many of those as we possibly can. Today is the day.

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

