Team MFBA

We made it to the finish! We started Friday night and 46 hours of madness later and Team MFBA has the much coveted skull trophy given only to those who suffer to the very end of the torturous Death Race. There is much to say, so there will be several installments of blogs to update all you guys on the tasks, the emotions, the breakdowns, the camaraderie, the fun and the tears. I am still fuzzy-headed from lack of sleep. I haven’t had a full night’s sleep since last Thursday. I was hoping once I got into my own bed last night that would be remedied, but the thunderstorm had the dogs scared and so Jerritt and I slept fitfully yet again. One of these days I will recover. I will also be gathering up pictures from the crew to post, so look forward to that (even I haven’t seen all the pics).

MFBA = Mother F#$%ing Bad Ass.

Our team was officially named some 30 hours into the race in a state of delirium as Anita and I wandered lost on Joe’s mountain alone and in the dark. We spent 10 hours on that mountain just to complete 1 task.

The name couldn’t be better. My support crew suffered right there beside me, staying up through the nights, running frantically to get me gear and food, trekking the mountains and most importantly, keeping me going when I didn’t think I could make it. This was a TEAM effort and I can’t thank you guys enough, though I will keep trying and trying.

Here are a couple of support crew highlights

Dawn – stayed up all night hand washing and drying my clothes with a HAIR DRYER at the hotel. I tried using that pitiful thing on my hair Sunday…it must have taken forever and I love you for it, O’Dalley!

Chris – “I am so scared.” -Me. I don’t think I’ve ever used those words and actually meant them. Saturday night on the smaller mountain, we got caught coming down in the dark, the rain, the thunder and the lightening. Chris got us out even though he only had his prescription sunglasses and could barely see.

Laurel – donated a little blood for Team MFBA. Joe told me to go around the driveway and dead-lift all the rocks with help on the big ones. L did most of the lifting and literally put her life-force into the task, dripping blood on a couple of the rocks. You are a beast!!

Jerritt – got to the Death Race Saturday night and in his haste to find me on the mountain, ran into another racer that was suffering from some serious hypothermia. He got her safely down the mountain and to the emergency crew. I’m so proud of my life-saving, police officer boyfriend!

Anita – my mountain girl! We spent 10 hours on Joe’s mountain and went through it all together. Not only did she get me safely down, she found another racer who had abandoned his pack and log and was aimlessly wandering, having hallucinations and dead tired. She made sure he was okay, and then kept me safe through some very rough times.

Roger – Ran up a mountain and then down the other side BAREFOOT just to bring me a sandwich and some Aleve. Let me say that this route was hard enough as it was with shoes…over downed trees, through mud and bushwhacking territory but I can’t imagine doing it without shoes. Best PB&J ever.

Definitely more to come soon! And the official list is out:

Congrats to everyone who showed up to participate in the 2011 Death Race. It’s one of my favorite weekends of the year. I enjoy spending time with inspiring people and you all fit that mold. Special Congrats to the 35 athletes who were able to finish, 45 hours into the race. Well done. 2012 is the year of BETRAYAL.
The following participants finished the race.
1 Joe Decker
2 Jeff Foster
2 Bruce Foster
4 Grace Cuomo Durfee
5 Don Schwartz
6 Nickademus Hollon
7 Ryan Leveille
8 PJ Rakoski
9 Josh Zitomer
10 Andrew Haas
10 David Harwood
12 Dennis Lesniak
13 Travis Buttle
14 Lisa Madden
15 Sean Dickson
15 Jon Weiler
17 Ian James
18 Mark Harrison
19 Mark Jones
20 Frank Fumich
20 John Wall
20 Dan Bayer
23 Eric Ashley
24 Matt Robinson
25 Jack Cary
26 Reed Costello
27 Megan Mays
28 Robin Crossman
29 Vu Tran
30 Patrick Walsh
31 Bryan Murphy
32 Rebecca Hansen
33 Joe Crupi
34 John Waite
35 Ray Morvan
About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Death Race and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Team MFBA

  1. Lynn says:

    So proud of you and your team!

  2. Marissa says:

    WOW… Great job to your awesome team as well! Glad they were there to help you and the others along the way. Can’t wait to read more about it! Oh and umm…can we see a picture of this trophy in one of them? 😀

  3. dawn says:

    I love our entire MFBA team.
    Confession: I didn’t wash your clothes. I only dried them!!! You didn’t even notice the mud….you are AMAZING O’Malley.

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

