One 50K and lots of cooking.

I’m sponsored! Kinda. Sorta. Okay, here’s the deal. You know that Dawn and I have been working, working, working to get our BFF Dog Ranch off the ground. Well, it’s happening. This is going to be the magic year. And it may end up being only a moisture-wicking shirt to claim my pro status, but my New Mexico 50K is now a BFF event. The training plan has been made and the goal for this event is twofold: to finish and to train injury-free. You may laugh at me in my dorky 80’s-looking, soccer-wannabe compression socks, but I think my knees recover faster when I wear them. Also on the stay-healthy agenda is lots of active isolate stretching; ice, ice, ice; joint supplements; and anything else that may be suggested. Yes, I’m doing it all! For those non-athletes out there, this means for every 40min run, there’s at least an hour of follow-up stretching and icing behind the scenes. What can I say? I’m committed.

The one-week Paleo Diet review: Clean eating is being pretty good to me so far. It’s definitely a process with some ups and downs but in general, it’s not as difficult to do as I thought it would be. It’s a lot of money (more meat and fresh veggies than I’m used to buying) and a lot of time (cooking Every. Single. Night.). I’ve had some really yummy recipes (like this one: Fast Shrimp) and some not so yummy recipes (the oven is not always my friend). I’m not jonesing like I expected. Every now and then, I’ll think to myself how nice a bowl of ice cream or a slice of pizza would taste, but I haven’t fixated on one non-paleo item to the point of obsession. I’ve lost about 3lbs. To clarify, I lost 3lbs in the first three days. Everyone says this is the water weight. And my only complaint other than the time suck is that I’ve been lightheaded. Research turned up that this is due to my insulin level dropping (causing there to be less sodium in my blood stream) plus the drop in blood sugar equaling less blood volume thus lower blood pressure. The sources also say that this should go away after three to four weeks on the diet, which seems like a long time to me, but they also promise that after that initial period, I’m going to feel like a super woman. World, be warned!

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in BFF Dog Ranch, Journal, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One 50K and lots of cooking.

  1. Dawn says:

    Can we put the BFF logo on your cape, too? Love you O’Malley!

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

