Another Paleo Update. (Don’t hate me!)

Geez, more Paleo?! Yes, this is my life now. Food was always my life, but now I feel as if I have justification to blog about it. Other people are interested in Paleo too, right?

My most recent Paleo complaint (luckily there haven’t been too many) is the clean-up. I hate to do dishes. Hate. It. Lucky me, my guy knows that golden rule: if one person cooks, the other cleans. Oh, how I love that rule. Unlucky me, my guy has been sick for the past two months. He’s been keeping up pretty well, but recently it’s gotten bad. So, that leaves me to cook AND do the dishes. As if cooking wasn’t taking up a large amount of my time, now I have to add rinsing and scrubbing to the list of things that keep me from bed and sleeping. Because, let’s face it, though I try very hard with the help of my Tetris skill, not everything is dishwasher compatible.

Complaint remedied: We went to Moe’s. Before going cavepeople, Jerritt and I ate at Moe’s about 2-3 times a week. More realistically, closer to the 3. So, we always knew the first flex meal we would have would be at Moe’s. But I’ve been wary about flexing. I’ve read that people feel worse than crap after eating grains and dairy while on Paleo. And it’s still close enough to Dec. that I remember how crap feels. I don’t really want to go there. At least, not yet. Surely, pizza or ice cream will lure me there one day soon. But back to Moe’s night.

This was Jerritt’s flex meal, though he didn’t flex too hard. He had a little cheese, and a little taco shell, but most of his cheat was sweet tea. For me, I did zero flexing. Unless you count the flexing of my awesome willpower. I had (I warned you this was coming…where I list out every morsel of food in my meal…) chicken fajitas with no tortillas. Sautéed green peppers, onions and mushrooms. Lettuce, pico, and sliced jalapeños. I dumped salsa on top, got a cup of guacamole and refused the chips. It was the best Moe’s meal ever. Better than queso-drenched nachos. Better than tacos with sour cream and shredded cheese. Better than that awesome taco-wrapped-in-a-quesadilla they have. Incredible – 1. I can eat at Moe’s without fear. 2. You can have Paleo food without feeling like you’re missing out. 3. Om nom nom nom. I did have a little stomach discomfort the next morning, but I’m hoping that was because of the half pound of jalapeños that I ate with my food. Scientific experimentation is the only way to find out for sure. Back to Moe’s!

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in Paleo!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another Paleo Update. (Don’t hate me!)

  1. I found the chicken at Moe’s is not gluten free, but the pork is!

  2. Megan says:

    Thanks, Dennis! I appreciate the tip, but I don’t eat pork. Frown. Well, I eat bacon, but no other pork. Guess I could go sans meat at Moe’s, which I’m sure would still be lip-smackin’ good 🙂

  3. Leon says:

    Great! Now the next time you are here I won’t have to go to the grocery, just out in the woods and gather nuts and berries.

  4. Megan says:

    That would be VERY paleo of you!!

  5. Dawn says:

    O’M, just curious….Lucy & Leo’s …. can we get them on the paleo-wagon? Hope Jerry feels better soon, ’cause those dishes must be stacking up!!
    Love your Paleo Blogs. Keep ’em coming. O’D.
    PS My flex meal this week was also Moe’s – GROUND MEAT, little cheese, chips, guac and sour cream. I flex HARD!! My flex dessert was GODIVA Caramel & Seasalt Choc BAR. OMG, worth every bite.
    PSS Did you know there is a new FIVE GUYS open by Bonefish? WTH????

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

