7 days till 50k

This time next week I will be well into my first 50k. Hopefully, I will be just about finished with my first lap and looking forward to my second. Last weekend, Joe and I took a field trip out to Torreya, got about two-thirds of the course done and still had some left in the tank. That does a lot for my confidence and keeps those pesky butterflies at bay. I’m feeling pretty excited for this race and hope to come in at somewhere under seven hours. A funny thing, that, saying that I hope to be finished running after seven hours. I find myself saying a lot of funny things lately, like, “we stopped short at 24 miles,” or “that four hour run went by fast.” I guess this is just the life of an endurance athlete and I should stop fighting it and embrace the strangeness. All I know for sure is that I’m looking forward to spending a day on the trails next Saturday and then basking in the glory of having accomplished something I never imagined possible. Oh, and then taking much time off 🙂

About Megan

I live and work with dogs in Tallahassee, Fl. My loves are in this order: 1. Dogs 2. Food 3. Coffee 4. Endurance Sports
This entry was posted in 50K Ultra Trail Run and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 7 days till 50k

  1. Joe says:

    I’m so excited for you, you’re going to do GREAT!!!!!

  2. Dawn says:

    I hope we get to eat a big delish meal when you’re done!! Can’t wait.

  3. Lindsey says:

    So I googled to find out where this 50K was tomorrow (my tri-athelete group member was curious) and I found your blog…and all I have to say is…the only thing I EVER do for 7 hours straight is sleep! What a woman you are!

Got something to say? Say it! I LOVE comments!

